DNG #18: Mandai Madness

My biggest enemy in training is… The snooze button.

Woke up at 5 am today. Closed my eyes for a bit. Opened them again and it was 6.08am. That meant the squad had set off 8 minutes earlier from a starting point that was about 10km away.

Since time travel hasn’t quite come along yet, I would have to try to catch the squad somewhere along the way. I picked Thomson Road, where they’d be passing at about 6.40am. I got there in time and saw them pass me as I was getting the bike out of the car. (you weren’t expecting me to catch them on my bike, right??). Closed the gap just as they turned toward Old Upper Thomson Road. Phew.

Things were pretty much back on track until we hit Mandai, just outside the crematorium where traffic was heavier than normal.

Qing Ming.

This meant that our other favourite straight at Lim Chu Kang would be clogged, because of the cemetaries flanking the road. True enough, it looked like a wall of cars.

image
Thanks Nicolas (most photographed man in TriEdge), for making sure us back markers didn't get lost!

Still the uncongested stretch of Lim Chu Kang was long and hilly enough to make this enough of a workout. Along with the lorries blowing up mini sandstorms in their wake and potholes to keep you on your toes, it was enough for me.

Heading back, I headed back same way I came with Roro and Marcella. (Vargin and Jeremy were still blasting up and down the hills…) We parted ways at Mandai, where I saw this.

image

And this.

image

Saw a funeral cortege rushing to the crematorium –  guess they were trying to get there by their allocated time – driving on the wrong side of the road.

More close calls along Thomson road where cars and mini buses came close enough to shave my hairy legs.

Moral of the story? Don’t do Mandai and Lim Chu Kang during Qing Ming. And don’t snooze.

THE END.

Leave a Reply

